The University of Arizona

AZPM Tops the Tucson Market With Eight Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards

By Arizona Public Media, October 23, 2012

The UA's Cooper James is the first student to win this prestigious award.

"Together We Heal"
"The Zoppé Circus"
"Sleeping Frog Farms"
"UA Balanchine Dance"

Arizona Public Media has won a total of eight Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards, more than any commercial station in the Tucson Market.

AZPM photographer and UA student Cooper James, the first student at the University of Arizona to have received this prestigious award, won for his work as a videographer on the Arizona Illustrated feature story, “The Zoppé Circus,” which received a total of three awards.
“These awards for quality and creativity recognizes some of the achievements of our talented staff, and the stories they produce for viewers in Southern Arizona and beyond,” said Jack Gibson, director and general manager of AZPM.

“Our prime objective is to provide community service by bringing people and ideas together through thoughtful storytelling, and this recognition is an indication that we’re accomplishing that goal. I am even more delighted that one of our Emmy winners is a UA student photographer, Cooper James. The recognition of his work speaks volumes about the opportunities UA students have to gain valuable experience working alongside AZPM’s professional staff.”
Tucson commercial stations KOLD 13 received four Emmy awards, KGUN 9 received two and KVOA 4 received one.
In addition to Emmy awards, NPR 89.1 was voted "Best Radio Station for News" in the Tucson Weekly’s Best of Tucson for the 11th year in a row. Arizona Illustrated, PBS 6’s half-hour news magazine, was picked by Tucson Weekly readers as the "Best News Show with Important Local News."
PBS 6 - Rocky Mountain Emmy Award Winners, by program, include:

  • "Together We Heal" (one award): Documentary: Tom Kleespie, producer.
  • "The Zoppé Circus" (three awards): Arts/Entertainment-Program Feature Segment: Mitchell Riley, producer/editor; Editor-Program (Non-News): Mitchell Riley, producer/editor; Photographer-Program (Non-News): Cooper James, videographer.
  • "Sleeping Frog Farms" (two awards): Environment-Program Feature Segment: Antonio Paniagua, producer; Mitchell Riley, producer
  • "UA Balanchine Dance" (two awards): Magazine Program-Feature Segment: Luis Carrion, producer; Mitchell Riley, editor

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is a membership organization dedicated to excellence in television by honoring exceptional work through the prestigious Emmy Award. This organization is the only professional association representing television professionals from all disciplines of the industry, serving as the common meeting ground for individuals dedicated to advancing the art and science of television.

The Chapter region serves Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming and El Centro, California. Click here for more information on the 2011 Rocky Mountain Emmy Nominees.

AZPM is a member-supported non-profit media organization based at the UA and is the trusted source of information that promotes thoughtful conversation and community collaboration. The organization offers six channels of television content, three channels of radio content, a robust lineup of online offerings and community and educational outreach to residents in Southern Arizona and beyond.

AZPM produces award-winning original television, radio and online content from its digital studios on the campus of the UA and is provided as a community service and educational resource. More information about AZPM, including program schedules and video-on-demand offerings, can be found online.