The University of Arizona

August 2012

Wednesday, August 1, 2012
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Computer Science
10 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Music
3 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Chemistry
3 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Computer Science
4:15 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Management Information Systems
6 p.m. 'Fresh Outlook on Osteoarthritis and Physical Capabilities' Presentation
Thursday, August 2, 2012
1 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Plant Pathology
3 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Chemistry
Friday, August 3, 2012
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Epidemiology
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Chemistry
10 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Optical Sciences
11 a.m. Guitar Concert Series
11:45 a.m. Weight Watchers Group Meeting at University of Arizona Medical Center
Noon Doctoral Oral Defense - Philosophy
Saturday, August 4, 2012
8:30 a.m. Boyce Thompson Arboretum Guided Nature Walk
10 a.m. Science Downtown - 'Tucson Lands on Mars!'
Sunday, August 5, 2012
10:15 a.m. Lecture Series - 'Voices for Peace in a War-Filled Age'
Monday, August 6, 2012
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Anthropology
10 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Chemistry
11 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Psychology
Tuesday, August 7, 2012
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Public Administration
10 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Chemical and Environmental Engineering
11 a.m. International Undergraduate Orientation
1 p.m. Poster Session and Closing Ceremony of the 17th Annual Undergraduate Research Opportunities Consortium
2 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Psychology
3 p.m. Staff Advisory Council Meeting
3 p.m. Retirement Reception for Cathy Bates
Wednesday, August 8, 2012
All Day Last Day of Classes and Laboratory Sessions - Summer Session II
8:30 a.m. International Undergraduate and Graduate Orientation
3:30 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Economics
5:30 p.m. Surgical Weight-Loss Seminar
Thursday, August 9, 2012
8:30 a.m. International Undergraduate and Graduate Orientation
Noon Vida! Educational Series
Friday, August 10, 2012
11 a.m. Guitar Concert Series
11:45 a.m. Weight Watchers Group Meeting at University of Arizona Medical Center
Sunday, August 12, 2012
10:15 a.m. Lecture Series - 'Voices for Peace in a War-Filled Age'
Monday, August 13, 2012
10 a.m. Tucson Community Stroke Support Group Meeting
Tuesday, August 14, 2012
7:30 a.m. New Faculty Orientation
5:30 p.m. Alumni and Industry Partners Reception
Wednesday, August 15, 2012
8 a.m. Graduate Orientation 2012
3 p.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Optical Sciences
Thursday, August 16, 2012
All Day Residence Halls Open
6 p.m. Wildcat Fiesta
Friday, August 17, 2012
All Day 'UA Clicks' Mandatory New Student Event
11 a.m. Guitar Concert Series
11:45 a.m. Weight Watchers Group Meeting at University of Arizona Medical Center
4 p.m. Wildcat Welcome: Wildcat Family Conference for Parents
5 p.m. UA 'Kick Off the New School Year' Event
Saturday, August 18, 2012
9 a.m. WaterSmart Lecture - 'Hands-On Waterwise Garden Design'
9:30 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Medical Center
10 a.m. WaterSmart Lecture - 'Gray Water Rebate Seminar'
Sunday, August 19, 2012
10:15 a.m. Lecture Series - 'Voices for Peace in a War-Filled Age'
6 p.m. New Student Convocation
Monday, August 20, 2012
All Day Fall Semester Classes Begin
All Day Deadline to Pay for Fall 2012 Without a Late Charge
8 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Public Administration
8:30 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Medical Center
Tuesday, August 21, 2012
7 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Medical Center
11:30 a.m. Bear Down Ice Cream Bash
Wednesday, August 22, 2012
9 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Medical Center
9 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Cancer Center
9 a.m. Doctoral Oral Defense - Planetary Sciences
6 p.m. 'Finding Community Welcome' Event
Thursday, August 23, 2012
8:30 a.m. Red Cross Blood Drive at the University of Arizona Medical Center
4 p.m. Wildcat Welcome: Meet Me at the Rec!
6 p.m. Better Than Ever Information Meeting
7 p.m. 'AZ 100: Reflections on Essential Books of the Grand Canyon State' Lecture
7 p.m. A Salute to Fred Fox
Friday, August 24, 2012
11 a.m. Guitar Concert Series
11:45 a.m. Weight Watchers Group Meeting at University of Arizona Medical Center
12:30 p.m. Wildcat Welcome: Campus Rec Pool Party
Tuesday, August 28, 2012
Noon Better Than Ever Run, Walk, Bike Group Information Meeting
3:30 p.m. Welcome Reception Honoring President Ann Weaver Hart and Randy Hart
5:15 p.m. Cooking on Campus: Master Your Microwave
Wednesday, August 29, 2012
11 a.m. Sun Link Tucson Modern Streetcar Open House
5 p.m. African American Student Affairs Open House
Thursday, August 30, 2012
Noon BIO5 Wellness Series: 'Quick and Healthy Breakfasts and Lunches'
3:30 p.m. Reception Honoring Laura Todd Johnson
3:45 p.m. Lunar and Planetary Laboratory Colloquium
4 p.m. Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Seminar Series
5 p.m. UA BookStores Presents DJ Wreckineyez
7 p.m. Reading - Kate Bernheimer and Cynthia Hogue
Friday, August 31, 2012
All Day Last Day to Receive a Refund for a Complete Withdrawal
11 a.m. Guitar Concert Series
11:45 a.m. Weight Watchers Group Meeting at University of Arizona Medical Center
2 p.m. Grand Reopening of The A-Store at McKale Memorial Center
5:30 p.m. Peace Corps General Information Session

August 2012

Ongoing Events